Eyebrows. Who knew?

Published March 17, 2017 by mindfulofchatter

EYEBROWS

As some of you know, I decided to stop plucking my eyebrows and let them grow back to their mostly natural state.  I am keeping the uni-brow from becoming a reality and keeping the outer edges more or less shaped. Since I tend to be lazy about this, it’s pretty much less.

It’s been 13 days since I stopped plucking and pulling the little hairs out. They still look rather patchy and funny. There are a few gray hairs in there as well. I’ve noticed I have a stripe under each brow that is devoid of hair at the moment. I wondered about those and had a closer look in mirror.

There are some hairs growing in the little desert strip, but they are very blonde and don’t show. I also noticed that there are the beginnings of brow hair showing up, even though they haven’t sprouted yet. Over all, things still look a bit odd so I decided to do a little eyebrow research.

Mind you, most of the eyebrow information I found was on some sort of beauty site, so they include ‘tips’ for faster re-growth. I ignored those.

Like all hair, eyebrows grow in a cycle. Eyebrows tend to run on a 5 -7 week growth cycle. Because plucking pulls everything out, it can take longer as the follicle needs to re-form and so on. If you over pluck or shave your eyebrows, it can take up to 2 years before they recover fully. In a few cases, they may never grow back. The average time for eyebrows to fully re-grow is 56 – 65 days for adults.

So it seems I remain looking a bit odd for a while longer. I don’t mind. I’m having sort of a fun time watching them re-grow. I do try to keep them groomed – meaning I brush all the hairs to face the same direction. I am not into penciling in the gaps, or pomading them into place, or using some concoction to make them grow a little faster. When all the little hairs have made it back in place, I will deal with whatever weirdness is left then. The gray ones don’t bother me. They are part of the badge of making it this far in life.

Not only is my grooming life a bit easier, but now I’ve gone learned something as well. For me, this is a plus. Who knew there was so much to learn about eyebrows?

Pretty darn cool, if you ask me.

 

2 comments on “Eyebrows. Who knew?

  • Leave a Reply

