Personal Reset

Published March 4, 2017 by mindfulofchatter

decisions

 

So the entire dating thing went amiss, as it usually does, leaving me to contemplate my navel and other assorted body parts. After removing about ten years whole of belly button lint, I came to a couple of decisions.

A) I need to clean out my belly button more often.

B) I am done colouring my hair.

C) I am done with plucking my eyebrows into ‘the perfect shape’.

Why would I do these things? Especially the eyebrow thing. Who in their right mind would DO this??!!?? I will be so unfeminine! Why, oh why, would I make these changes? For me, it’s easy.

The hair.

When I was young, my hair was very blonde all on its own. I didn’t do anything to it except wash it and brush it. As I got older, it got darker. I started to dye it when it got to be very dark blonde (or light brown, as I like to call it). And that was okay – the colouring part. I did it myself, and it wasn’t a big deal.

But now I am getting a bit grey at the temples, in fact all along the front edges. I like the grey. It’s like a badge of making it to older adulthood. I don’t want to cover it up. I earned those grey hairs. They are a part of who I am.  I bought my last box of colour the other day. This morning I coloured my hair for the last time, combing my gray bits forward and leaving them out of the process. Life will be a little easier and I won’t be looking for those dark roots every couple of weeks. I suppose when I renew my driver’s license, I’ll have to update my hair colour to brown. Hmmmmmm…

The brows.

I was late to the plucking party. I didn’t do anything to my eyebrows until I was in my late 20’s or early 30’s (I honestly don’t remember). I kept the uni-brow at bay and that was about it. Then someone suggested a shaping and the whole party got out of control. For a while, I got them waxed when I got my hair trimmed, and that was nice. But waxing takes money and time and appointments and finding someone who does it how you like it and – bah! I’m tired of it. Not the mention that brow fashion changes every so often, and I have no interest in keeping with The Joneses or anybody else. My brows were fine before, they will be fine now. Well, once they grow back in.

So I quit plucking. They itch and they look awful because, of course, the hairs won’t just grow in all together. I have a patch here and one over there. I’m wondering if this how men feel when they begin to grow a beard? I’m pretty sure my co-workers wonder why I am avoiding the spa and getting those puppies waxed. My scar from a surgery long, long ago will show again. Maybe it will make me look tough. Like a ruffian.

The uni-brow will kept at bay and the outer edges will be kept clear of the dark hairs. It’s less time and aggravation for me.

The funny thing is, these two decisions are sort of a result of the attempt to date. Not the attempt itself, but the comments and the clarifications of what men are looking for. The more I read, the more I wondered about why I did certain things. All those must haves made me shudder. Well I must have a life that suits me and not some guy I’ve never met.

What about you? What things are you doing be more attractive to someone else? Or because some star is doing it? Or because you think it makes you more feminine?

I’m going to do what makes my life a little less complicated. Those stupid eyebrows will eventually catch up and look even again. My hair will continue to get grey and grow long again. I will continue to just be me, and not worry about what anyone else thinks.

And you? Be happy with who you are.

Namaste.

 

