Chuckin’ In The Towel – Again

Published February 28, 2017 by mindfulofchatter

towel

After re-writing, re-tooling, re-anything I could think of, I once again deleted my dating profile. I am not getting the results I had hoped for, let alone the results the dating site(s) promise. They promise loosely, of course. It’s not hard line promise. Okay, it isn’t a promise of any kind, it’s just the usual spiel to get people in.

And now I am out.

I’ve had it the men who can’t figure things out. Simple things, such as you live 2500 miles away and a relationship isn’t going to happen, I don’t want to date someone with a drinking problem, or a smoker, or a person who can’t answer a simple question. Little things, such as my personal views on sex and sexual preferences are none of your damn business after only two e-mails. Plus, I can not get a feel for someone who writes three or four word e-mails – every time.

Him: Hi. How are you?

Me: I am doing well. How are you?

Him: Doing good.

Me: That’s good to hear. Have you been doing anything interesting? I began a new job the other day.

Him: No. Nothing interesting.

Me: What do you do for fun? (chat chat chat)

Him: I am Spanish American.

Me: Are both your parents from Spain? (chat chat chat)

Him: My father is.

Me: And your mother? My mom’s grandfather came over from Germany. (chat chat chat)

Him: She from the island.

The island? What island? Where? I never found out what island his mother is from because I gave up. I got tired of trying to pull a conversation out of him. This man’s profile claims him to be outgoing. Oh, and (chat chat chat) means I wrote more conversational lines.

If you guys can’t be bothered to make an effort, or just want to be slime balls, that’s fine. But count me out.

Part of the frustration is the old double standard is still alive and well. The guys can be a little chubby, have a receding hairline, and wear thick glasses. But I have to be slim, athletic, and be ‘feminine’ – whatever that means. If I can’t be pretty enough, or skinny enough, right off the bat, I am passed over. Men are visual, I’m told. What a stupid ass excuse for judging someone only by their appearance. And yes, we all do that to a certain extent, but in all honesty, women are often more accepting of less handsome men than the other way ’round.

And, apparently, the whole Lego thing is beyond everyone’s comprehension. Well, those in the over 50 crowd.

It seems I will dance along solo for a while longer. And that’s okay with me. I don’t need a man in my life to be happy (which, oddly, seems to be part of the problem).

I’ll be over here, having fun, if anyone should wish to give me a ring.

 

Leave a Reply

