How Do I Know?

Published February 15, 2017 by mindfulofchatter

With my move I had sold my bed set to a work mate who needed it. She was just coming back from 4 years of being homeless and desperately needed furniture. I wasn’t sure where I would be, so bringing a bed and nightstand seemed to be unnecessary. Her need was greater than my own, and I had my trusty air mattress to get me by.

Once my roommate and I were more or less settled in our apartment, I decided to see if I could find a cheap platform and mattress. I was going to downsize from the queen, but a twin seemed too small. I settled on a full-size. I figured saving the 10 inches overall would help with the small bedroom size, and I could still manage my queen sheet set on the smaller mattress until I could find the proper sized sheets.

I found, and ordered a full size platform bed on Amazon. It was inexpensive, and quite plain but was tall enough to store things underneath it – a boon when you have very limited storage. This is a no frills kind of frame. Here is part of the product description:

  • Complete mattress support system-replacing both the frame & box spring.
  • Easy to assemble-in minutes-no tools required.
  • 14 wooden slats, center support bar and seven foldable legs provide strength and stability.
  • 12.5 inches of clearance under the frame for valuable under bed storage space
  • 14″ H x 57″W x 75″L

Amazon will ask you if you are willing to answer questions about the 14″ smart base bed frame. They also ask you to review it. I did a review because I know that well written reviews help me when I am buying online. I did my best to give an honest review on the appearance, the assembly,  etc.. I also agreed to answer questions from other shoppers.

And the fun began. It seems the actually reading the product details is a bit too much for most people.

How tall is this bed frame?

I dunno. I’m guessing the 14″ bed frame is 14″ tall. ( I said it nicer in real life, but still, the product title is 14″ platform bed frame.)

How tall is the storage underneath?

I’m guessing it’s 12.5″ – as stated in the description.

Do the wooden slats come with it?

Yes. Yes, they do. It even tells you they do. You know, in the description.

Is there a center leg?

Yes, there is. You will find it in the part of the description that says ‘center leg’.

From the blatant, obvious questions about the things that are clearly stated in the product description and product headline, we then moved to the you-must-have-esp questions.

Will this bed frame fit inside my queen water bed frame?

First off, how in the hell would I know? I don’t know you, I haven’t seen your bloody bed frame, nor do I know the measurements of it.

Will this fit inside my king bed frame and can it be used as a box spring?

Again, how would I know? How would anyone reading your question know? Are you incapable of using a tape measure? But yes, it will replace your box spring.

If I use my current mattress, will it fit on this frame?

I don’t know. What size is your current mattress?

Can I store my things under this bed frame?

I suppose so. It says you can. I store some of my things under it. But it really comes down  to  what sort of ‘things’ you are wanting to store?

And the one rather scary question:

Can I put a mattress on the floor under this bed frame for a guest?

Uh. Uh. You know  actually someone who could fit on a mattress under a bed with only 12.5″ of clearance?

Looking back the 300+ questions and answers about this particular product, I began to wonder if people can read at all. Mostly, I think people are just plain lazy. There many repeated questions, many of which are answered in the product description. This is a platform smart base. No frills, folks. All it does is hold your mattress up off the floor.

If you need to ask a question about an online product, PLEASE, read the FULL description first. Your answer may be there. If not, remember the kind folks who have agreed to answer your questions don’t know anything about your current furniture. We don’t know you, we can’t see your bedroom furniture, and unless you give us all the information, we can’t help you.

And please keep the scarier questions to yourself.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

