Questions From The Dating Site

Published January 30, 2017 by mindfulofchatter

25-questions-to-ask-ts

It’s that time once again. Time to see how many times I can be rejected by men I don’t know and will never meet. Sounds fun, doesn’t it? I need to work on my game show host voice.

To be fair, I know pretty much what is going to happen going in. I don’t expect to meet anyone, really. I have met a few very nice men through dating sites, but no one who has been ‘the guy’. I list the dating site in my ‘Entertainment’ bookmarks because all in all, I do find it entertaining.

What I will never, ever understand is you men and your approach to dating. Especially online dating. Is there something about online dating that makes you kinda stupid? I am over fifty and I tend to expect the men in my age range to have a little going on than a twenty year old. How silly of me.

These are actual questions sent to me by men looking ‘get to know me’.

U R pretty. U have a really nice smile. I think we have a chance at a long-term relationship.

I have to say that I abhor the use of letters for words. My issue completely. But I am pretty sure a nice smile isn’t the basis for a long-term relationship.

I want to get to know you. Tell me all about your childhood.

Uh. No. And why would you ever ask that right off the bat? That’s just creepy.

Do you like oral pleasure? (after a handful of communication back and forth)

Chocolate cake and silk pies are good. (Yup. That was my response)

I’m in the military, serving in Afganistan. Do you like men in unform?

I may, but I find it odd that you are in the military when your profile says you use a cane and sometimes a wheelchair due your cerebral palsy. (I was blocked by this user when I asked him what time it was in Afganistan)

How tall are you?

I am the same height I listed on my profile. Do you guys ever actually read those things?

Why are you single?

I don’t know. Maybe I can’t find someone who engages in actual conversation without making references to sex in every other message. Why are you single? That street goes both ways.

What are your interests?

Again, the main ones are listed in my profile. In fact, there is a whole section that is nothing but a list of interests. Seriously, you guys need to read these things.

Yes, I am serious. These are messages I have received by men looking for a date or a wife. So far, I have a whole lot of WTF? going on in my head. Who would ask these kinds of questions? Would you ask this crap to my face if you met me on the street? It’s sad and amusing at the same time.

I know I am not a good match for the typical man in his fifties or early sixties. I’m a little odd. I like a lot of different things. I’m pretty intelligent (well, most of the time). I love superhero movies and make after life fairies for my friends. I have gargoyles (uh, not ones that fly, just small figurines). I think a fun date is making Lego people from a big bin of Lego people parts. I listen to music made after 1980.

I know. Where the hell do I get off being so flippin’ interesting?

 

4 comments on “Questions From The Dating Site

  • Leave a Reply

