Unemployment Gone Awry

Published February 9, 2016 by mindfulofchatter

Plot Twist

 

I try to follow the rules when I have to. In this case, I have to follow the rules for claiming unemployment or nothing happens. While I seriously doubt I will be granted any unemployment benefits, I will go through the required motions until they tell me I will not receive any benefits.

I applied for benefits soon after my separation from my last employer. I love that ‘separation’ is the PC word for fired, laid off, or just plain quit. It makes it sound as if we had too much wine with dinner and decided the relationship wasn’t working and separated. It also reminds of the time my employer took me out to lunch, then fired me during the meal. He is why I refuse to work for nutters ever again (The area where this happened knew this man and how he treated employees. I was given a lot of credit for working for him as long as I did). I came close to working for a nutter last year, but that is another story.

When you apply for unemployment in my state, you fill out an online claim, then receive a phone call telling you when to claim your next week of benefits. In my case, I received my phone call and was told to claim my week of benefits after February 6th. On February 7th, I motored to a local coffee house to do just that.

When I signed on to the website, it told me I had to re-start my claim. I found it odd because I had already done that. This means I to ring them, sit on hold, then repeat everything I had already told them. Yay for me. On Monday, I dutifully rang the unemployment office and waited on hold (only 12 minutes! – a miracle!) for a representative. I was told my claim had been closed because I hadn’t claimed any benefits. What??!!??

I relayed the earlier phone call. We both wondered why I had been told to wait to claim benefits. I didn’t take a name, and it appears they don’t make online file notes, so the person who rang me remains a mystery. Now I have to begin again. The woman I was speaking with explained what would happen now, and what I needed to do (I am still wondering in this age of online only applications, how I am supposed to meet the face to face requirements). She also told me it would be 6 – 8 weeks before I even knew if I would receive benefits. Six to eight weeks. What a lovely snafu.

In 6 – 8 weeks, without employment, I will be homeless and losing my vehicle. With my tax return, I can stay afloat another month. Then I am pretty much toast.

I have been looking all over the place for somewhere to work, or to go to find work. I flirted momentarily at moving back to my hometown. That ended when I looked at rents and other costs. I have some family in Texas, but I am pretty sure I am not a Texan in any way, shape or form.

My side venture has two bookings, but two bookings is not going to pay the rent. Especially when they are months away. Until that takes off, I need to make some money.

So here I sit, pondering what to do, where to go and how to get there.

PLOT TWIST!

Leave a Reply

