A Place To Call Home

Published December 28, 2015 by mindfulofchatter

I have been away and unable to update my current status.

Because I have found a place to call home.

It happened so fast I am still spinning after two weeks. It was one of those ‘meant to be’ situations. One of those time I fell into a place without a lot of drama. I am amazed.

I mentioned to co-workers weeks ago I needed a place to live. I told them I did not have much of a budget and dogs. The two things that make finding a decent rental tough enough in a good market, and almost impossible in the current rental market. I had been scouring the paper and Craigslist everyday. I had been driving around looking for ‘For Rent’ signs on my days off. I was getting nowhere and depressed.

Sitting at work a couple of weeks ago, I decided to make a quick check of the daily paper’s rentals. I figured my boss knew I was looking and wouldn’t mind (she also had a heads up on the situation). I saw there were new ads and scrolled down.

And  there it was. An ad for a one bedroom duplex in my price range. It didn’t mention pets, so I held out a little hope. I immediately rang the number and made arrangements to see the place after work. I did not mention pets. I have found that if I make contact and a connection, things like pets come easier.

I told my boss what I had found and she immediately asked me if I needed to go early. She knows how competitive the market is and didn’t want me to miss out. I was fine with the appointment I had made, and let her know all was well. Fingers and toes were crossed by all.

I wasn’t sure what to expect. Lower end rentals are often a step above a dump, if one is lucky. Many rentals in the current market include nothing (water, sewer garbage, etc.) making even a cheap place not so cheap in the end. On top of that, the tenant is expected to keep up the lawns and landscaping. It seems landlords think we all make far more money than the average income for this area. All I could do was see the place and ask questions.

I met the property manager at the appointed time. She is a very kind woman and takes tries fit tenants to the places she manages. We chatted a bit as she opened the door and we stepped inside.

I was unprepared for what I saw.

It is small, but very clean. The bathroom has newer fixtures and a walk in shower. The paint is new and clean. The carpets are fresh and clean. The linoleum is clean and looks newer. The bedroom has a walk in closet. There are storage cupboards. I swear my mouth hung open as I looked around.

We chatted a bit more. I found that the water, sewer and garbage are all included. I am responsible for cable, internet and electric. I broached the subject of my dogs. She was hesitant (because they are considered big dogs), but said she would talk to the owners. Fair enough.

The was a Wednesday. I paid for background check on Thursday, and was approved that same day. I got my keys on Monday and began to move that same day. It was a whirlwind. The owners took a chance on me and my dogs, and charged me an amazingly fair pet deposit. I could not believe it. I will not let these kind people down.

I am still moving things and unpacking. I am having to go from a sewing room to a sewing wall. Making things work is not always easy, but I am getting there. There is little left to move and I think I have figured out how to make it all fit and work. Money will be tight for a while (thank you car payment), but I can do this. I don’t have internet, so updates may be few and far between for a while. Once I get small smaller bills paid off, I ought to be able to squeeze in internet service. Until then, it’s a luxury I can’t afford. My digital TV antenna gives me most of the channels I watch. So while I may miss a few programs, I’ll survive. It’s only TV.

I am thankful for everyone who made this happen. I could not have done this without the help I received from friends and co-workers. They are few, but steady. I am grateful for them.

Now it is my turn to step into a new world. I hope I am ready.

 

 

Leave a Reply

