Finding A Place To Live

Published December 9, 2015 by mindfulofchatter

 

home-rent-sign-12878157

There are those people, you know the ones I mean, the ones that fall into places to live with little or no effort put to looking. They are offered the perfect place, or they drive by and look at an empty house only to have the owner pop out and offer to rent it to them. Or a friend of friend gets them a 7 year house sitting deal (Yes, that one really did happen. Only he got the place for 8 -10 years rent free. I’d hate him, but he is super nice guy.)

I am not one of those people.

Knowing that things weren’t going well, I have been looking for a place for about a month now. There are places to rent all over. But not a one in the price range I can even begin to afford. Let’s not even begin to discuss the pet situation and the outrageous fees being charged by landlords to have a 10 lb dog. Before you begin to leave pet related comments, let me say I have a reference for my dogs. Well, and for myself. It would be awkward if the dogs had a stellar reference and I did not.

I posted a note on my Facebook page about needing a place to live. So far the only response came from a childhood friend. She is an awesome person to extend to me a place if I need one. No. She is an awesome person. Period.

Of course the fact that I have a handful of friends on Facebook, and that most do not live anywhere near me, impedes any help coming from that arena. So I keep looking.

I don’t know how to find a place in such a ridiculous rental market. The rents are nowhere near the income for this area. It is a shame to have a full-time job and not be able to afford a simple one bedroom apartment or house. I’d even take a large studio.

Things are difficult where I am. Sleep and calm are hard-won items.

I need to move forward.

 

2 comments on “Finding A Place To Live

  • Leave a Reply

