Finding a New Hobby

Published September 4, 2015 by mindfulofchatter

thread

 

As my unemployed status drifts on, I find I need things to fill my time. Even though it is said one ought to job hunt full-time, there isn’t full-time worth of hunting to do. This leaves me with time on my hands and a busy mind that’s slowly going insane. Well, more insane than it already is.

A few years ago, I went to visit my sister in Washington for an event in her town. They were holding Victorian Heritage Days. Her town is Victorian port town on the tip of the Olympic Peninsula. I made an 1874 bustle gown for the occasion. I love that big bustle era. My sister had never made a Victorian dress before. I helped her here and there get her dress ready for the event. My sister is an amazing seamstress (a title I do not claim).

Since then, Sis has taken off with historical sewing. She has made some beautiful items. She also has a neat blog called Threading Through Time at  https://threadingthroughtime.wordpress.com/. Check it out. It’s fun and you may learn some cool things.

One of the things she writes about is Historical Sew Fortnightly  and the Historical Sew Monthly Challenges. Each month is a historical sewing challenge. The challenges are outlined and you choose how you will meet the challenge. If you do all the challenges, you will have 12 historically correct pieces to add to your wardrobe. Kinda cool, ain’t it?

As usual, I am late to the party. They are on challenge number 9 (September/9, see how that works?). If I can keep up, I’ll have 4 new clothing pieces to add to my historic wardrobe.

The HSM challenge #9 is Brown. Sounds kinda dull, doesn’t it. But brown has been very popular on and off for centuries. And here the other thing – I can make anything up WWII. Anything. Dress, hat, gloves, shoes, whatever tickles my fancy. It must be brown, or a pattern that would be described as brown and ______, or _____ and brown. This opens it up to plaids, florals, stripes, checks, as well as solid brown with coloured trims. And no, you don’t win anything. It isn’t a competition. It is for fun only. There is a Facebook page where everyone shares, helps and supports each other.

All I have to do now is choose something to make. It is due on September 30th.

I’d better get crackin’.

Leave a Reply

