Unemployment Update

Published April 7, 2015 by mindfulofchatter

As promised, here is an update on my unemployment status.

I found out through telephone interviews that my former employer outright lied to the unemployment office. She claimed I had not shown up for work (on days I was told not to come) and called her a liar, a backstabber and a cheat. So far, this seems to be a self-fulfilling prophecy. She is, indeed, lying, cheating and backstabbing all to prevent me from a pittance of benefits.

But, much to her outrage, I ‘won’ and am receiving my benefits. I do not understand her poor behavior. We came to an end of our working relationship. She let me go because there wasn’t enough work. Let it go. Hate me if you want to, but do it with a little grace.

She can comfort in the fact that I am still unemployed, because heaven forbid an employer may want to hire someone with a work ethic. I have too much experience, or not enough. I am willing to be a housekeeper, but I can’t be one because I have an education and can speak without saying ‘like’ 80 times in a row. The same with being a cleaner at a veterinarian’s office. I used to be a vet tech, so I can’t clean. It matters not that I haven’t been a vet tech for 30 years. It is frustrating at best.

So I am filling my time with sewing and housework. I am bored most days, frustrated and some days depressed. There is a very good chance I will run out of benefits before I find a job. There are days I so tired of looking at job postings I could scream. I often do not know what I should do next, or how improve my chances at getting a job. It isn’t as though I can be young again or change my work experience and education. So I will continue to look and apply and sit across from people who can not hide the expression that I am ‘too old’ for the job.

In the meantime, my house will be cleaner than usual, and my sewing machines will zip along fabric from my fabric hoard. I will stay busy, and my honey and I will end up with some fabulous Victorian clothing.

2 comments on “Unemployment Update

  • Phooey. Hang in there. Peter got aged-out 3 years ago and job-hunted to no avail for about a year before burning out. This week he is suddenly batting 1.000: 2 applications, 2 interviews and so far one firm job offer (the second interview is this afternoon). And he is 64 years old. So…perhaps there is hope.

  • Leave a Reply

