Living Large In A Teeny, Tiny World

Published November 2, 2014 by mindfulofchatter

All Hallows Eve has come and gone. I love Halloween. I do. I love thinking up a costume and making it come to life. Sometimes it’s a throw together, sometimes I spend weeks making one come to life.

Part of most female (and a few male) costumes are tights or hosiery of some sort. From seamed stockings to striped tights, you can find a wall full of all sorts of leg wear. And almost all of them are one size fits most. This is wonderful if you are 5’5″ (or less) and weigh no more that 130 lbs. I am 5’10” tall in naked feet. It doesn’t take much for me to be over 6′ tall. And I do not have particularly long legs. My legs are proportionate to my body, so while , yes, they are long, they are by no means a 38″ inseam.

I was doing a Dia de los Muertos style pirate. Yes, yes, I know that it not the typical the dia de los muertos costume. But that kinda what I will do. Take something cool from over there, and then mix it something else cool from over there. I had a black skirt, a petticoat and piratey type jacket I found at Goodwill. I had some very cool boots, a sash, and a wide ,black belt. In other words, I pretty much had all I needed to complete the costume. One thing I needed was a hat. I found a tri-corn hat at Goodwill, brought it home and made it better. Well, better in my opinion. And hey, it’s my hat.

But I wanted some tights to complete the look. I saw some with colorful skulls on them. I saw ones with white skulls on them. I saw ones with leg bones printed on them. I saw vertical stripes, horizontal strips, one red leg, one black leg, fishnets, back seams, flowers, spider webs…… I saw tons and tons of pretty cool hosiery.

But it was all ‘one size fits most’. That teeny, tiny, one size that most of us are when we are 13 to 20. Before having kids, or just plain maturing. I saw maybe 2 people shopping in the same store who may have been able to squeeze into that one size hosiery. I even went home and looked online. The same brand of hosiery was offered. The reviews were all the same.

“Too small. Very disappointed”

“I got them on, but the crotch was about 4″ down my thigh. WAY too short!”

“Who can wear these? I am not a big person, and I can not get them on!”

I have to say, this made me feel better. As least my inability to fit into these things was not because I was too fat. It was because the manufacturer is most likely in China , and making them to fit eensy -weensy, teeny, tiny girls. And, well, I am not a eensy-weensy teeny, tiny girl. In fact, as if to prove my point, moms were buying these same tights for their grade school daughters.

So yeah, I’m not imagining this.

There were a few marked plus size. After looking at the package, I could see that their idea of plus size was actually regular size. But not tall. Anyone over 5’6″ was just plain SOL for buying tights.

I never did get any tights with bones or skulls on them. I found some ‘everyday’ tights (in tall) the were a sort of silvery gray paisley. They worked fine. All in all, the tights didn’t show that much, but you know how it is when you get a picture of you want it to look in your head. My costumes came out nice. I was happy with it. My make-up came out very nice (after a couple of fits and false starts). I had fun, and that’s what counts.

dia de los muertos 2014

I keep hoping that one day the clothing manufacturers will realize there are tall people out there. Tall people who are not a size 2. We have hips, thighs and bust lines. In short, we have curves. We shouldn’t have to shop in a special catalog, or have to buy our clothes online only. Seriously, stores have entire sections for petite women. Why can’t they do that for tall women? I know this rant is futile. It hasn’t happened in 50 years, it isn’t about to happen anytime soon.

But I can dream.

 

 

 

 

 

One comment on “Living Large In A Teeny, Tiny World

  • I love this post. I totally know what you mean. I’ve struggled with having a too small waist with too large hips since I was 14. Not the same specifics, but all the same frustration. Pants that fit me in the hips are gaping at the waist and a belt doesn’t help. Ugh. I wish they’d design clothing for real people.

  • Leave a Reply

