And The World Shifts Again – Moving Forward

Published February 21, 2014 by mindfulofchatter

I know. I know! It’s been a while since I posted anything. The holidays have come and gone. Valentines Day has come and gone. Where the heck was I with my snarky comments and sage advice??

Moving.

The lease on my small, but tiny, apartment was up in December. The management being johnny-on-the-spot as always didn’t take notice of that fact until January. Lucky me! But now I had to re-qualify and re-up the lease. Or pay more in rent. I had no intention of spending another year living there if I could help it, let alone paying more in rent.

My apartment dwelling comrades were not the best examples of the human race. I have told you of the peanut butter bunny stomped into the carpet in front of the mailboxes. The neighbours who think 2 AM on a week night is grand time to play some dumb-arse video game on full volume. And Body Bag Boy (who moved before the holidays) and his incessant yelling and rule breaking habits. Yup. Just the folks I want to share walls with.

Another year there was not high on my list of things to do. So now what?

I broached  the subject of moving in together to Luke. I did on a Friday and that gave him the weekend to think it over. On my end, it is always ‘What the heck. You never know until you ask!’ I let him think about it without bringing it up over and over. This is a big relationship move. You don’t just do it on a whim. Well, okay. You usually don’t do it on a whim. Some of us ‘whim’ more than others.

Luke said yes. We may as well give it a shot. I was living at his place pretty much all through the holidays, then staying over every weekend. What’s four extra days of staying over? And we both could use the financial hand.

So I am moved in. Pretty much moved in, anyway. We have to close the apartment this weekend, but most everything is here rather than there. We have cleaned out, sorted through, thrown away, organized and painted our socks off. Luke has been a champ. This a lot of change for him all at once. His last child (16-year-old young man) living at home has also been a champ. The two bachelor boys have had their world turned upside down, inside out and sideways. And they still let me come home at night. Wow.

The four-legged companion is in heaven. She thinks Luke is all that and a bag chips with pie on the side. Not all the dogs are getting on together, so we have to play rotate the dogs. It’s a bit of a pain, but it works.

The holidays were wonderful. This is the first holiday season in years I have been happy and felt wanted and invited (we spent Thanksgiving and Christmas at his folk’s house with ‘the family’).  Valentines found me with a rose and a six-pack of ‘Hello Kitty’ mini cupcakes. And the cupcakes each had a ‘Hello Kitty’ ring on top! Jewelry on our very first Valentines together! WooHoo! Luke, Man-Child and I all went out for dinner the day after Valentines. All in all, it was a very fun day (or two).

So here we are, moving forward and having a grand time. Some may say we have moved too fast, but it seems to a natural move. We mesh together well. I have tons of people (some who know I am not married) assume we are married, and often ask how my husband is. Luke and I have given in and let it go. If they want to think we are married, okay.

I guess it’s a sign that we ‘go together’ well.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

