A New Year Awaits

Published January 1, 2014 by mindfulofchatter

Lord-Ganesha-2014

The old year is soon to be gone and a new one will take it’s place. In some parts of our little world this has already taken place.  But here, in my little corner, it is still 4 hours away.

We often look back on our year and see only the horrible bits. We are happy to see the year just go away, and look forward to a new, improved year. A new chance to right our wrongs and get our collective crap together. Like we attempted to do last year. And the year before. Some of us take longer than others to line the ducks up, get it together and herd those darn cats.

My own year has had a lot of ups and downs. The slope has been slippery to say the very least. I began this year with a full-time job. Because I had a full-time job, I traded in my beater car for a nicer, newer car. Than promptly was released from my full-time job. I thought ‘Well, I may be making my first and last car payment. I wonder how prompt the buses are?’.  But I managed and I still have my newer, nicer car.

While the rough patches have been quite rough and the sailing has not been smooth, I can still look back and see all the good things that have come my way.

I learned a lot. About myself, mostly. I found my strength. My balance. I found who I am and who I want to be. It’s never easy to look into yourself. But I did that in all that time I spent alone.

I found a job I love. I adore my boss. While the financial side is a bit on the slim side, I get by. I can manage the things I have to. I may want things, but it’s things I don’t need. I would live in my car to work for my boss. She is one heck of a woman and a wonderful boss. Seriously. This is NOT a dime a dozen job.

Those of you follow my silly little blog have read my struggles with relationships. The sometimes hilarious coffee dates, the odd balls and the ‘almost, but not quite’ relationships. So many disappointments. So many times I was ready to throw in the towel and call it quits. Yet as the year came to a close, I met someone.  A real someone. He not like anyone I have ever been with before. After all those doors slammed in my face a huge, gigantic window opened.

So as you laugh with your friends, toast the incoming new year, make resolutions you will promptly break and dance with that lampshade on your head, don’t remember the horrible times. Look back and smile at everything  you have accomplished. The little things that went well. The laughter you shared with friends and family. Let go of the crap, the hurts, the hard times. Wave good-bye to them and embrace the wonderfulness that is your life.

It’s brand new year. LIVE IT!

Leave a Reply

