I’m In a Relationship! I think.

Published September 7, 2013 by mindfulofchatter

relationship

 

As most of you know, I have been seeing my square dance partner for other things besides square dancing. He kind of snuck in dating when I wasn’t looking. I’m telling you, those quiet guys are sneaky. We have been having a good time and getting to know each other. He has opened up and talks more now. Who would have thought I would attract a quiet man. Oh, he isn’t really shy, just quieter than I am. But then, a freight train is quieter than I am. Go figure.

As I have said before, he seems to be okay with, and even enjoy, my slightly crazy approach to life and things in general. The occasional pink hair, Cosplay, re-enacting, the odder items in my apartment, etc., do not seem to bother him in the least. He is interested on going to Rendezvous’ (1840’s/mountain man events) and perhaps doing some Civil War re-enacting. This man actually owns a couple of kilts and is not afraid to wear them in public (yes he has the legs for it). You can see how we may get on rather well together.

But we have not done much in the way ‘couple things’. Such as holding hands or arms around each other when we are out. He not even kissed me.  I have been kind of ‘hmmmmmmm’ ing about this. And wondering what’s up (S’up) with that.

Me? I can be a bull in a china shop. For many years, I have scared to crap out men by, well being me. Not holding back much and going where my heart/mind wanted to go has made men run like mad in the opposite direction. For years I have also been counseled by friends to let the men do the manly stuff and make the first move blah, blah, blah.  So after several decades of struggle, I finally managed a sort of balance between to two. I say sort of because I often slip up and end up watching tail-lights as he burns rubber out of the parking lot. Yeah, I know. Then that wasn’t the guy for me. But it still gets old (and leaves me wondering where the men with the balls for life are hiding).

I was going somewhere…

Ah. Yeah. Anyway, Mr. Square Dance came over again last night for a movie and brought za (pizza). We ate, we watched a couple of movies (Hitchhiker’s Guide to The Galaxy and Zombieland) and talked. No cuddling up, no hand holding, no real contact what. so. ever. Seriously. WTF?

As he was leaving, he brought up, quite tactfully I might add, that he felt I was giving off  ‘don’t touch me signals’. For me, this is a giant ‘yippee’. Not that he may have picked up such signals, but that he is not afraid to talk about the things most humans are afraid to talk about. So I asked, he answered. He asked. I answered.  And the long and short of it? We both have been dancing around each other afraid to ‘make a move’ and scare the holy crap out the other. Instead of asking the other to go do things, we both have been not wanting to ‘hog the other’s time’ and thinking ‘ he/she is busy and will not want to see me yet again this weekend’.

Good Grief. For once I could have been the bull in the china shop and the man would have simply waved a red cape to entice me to charge in closer.

So with a square dance date set for tonight, and a possible afternoon of doing whatever set for later today, we shall see how things change. Now that we have both laughed at ourselves, and each other, the vibe should change accordingly and move forward. Wish us luck.

Yup. We are definitely the worst couple ever. But in a good way.

 

 

 

6 comments on “I’m In a Relationship! I think.

  • Leave a Reply

