Dr. Jekyll and His Apology

Published July 8, 2013 by mindfulofchatter

Image

I haven’t spoken with Jekyll/Hyde since our disastrous date a little over a week ago. I awoke the other morning and after a while decided I ought to really turn the phone on and see if anyone had tried to ring.

Lo and behold, a message from Dr. Jekyll.

It was the basic ‘This is *****. Hit me back.’ message. I thought about this for a while. What on earth would he have to say to me? It was obvious to me something went completely wrong on our last meeting. He was not happy. He was snappish and ill tempered. As well as rude, inconsiderate and ill mannered.

After a bit, I rang him to see what he wanted. He was surprised I was a bit snappish with him.

Me: ‘What do you want?’

Dr. Jekyll: “Wow. I guess nothing now. Why are you acting this way?’

Seriously? Were you not on our last date?

Me: ‘Well, you have to admit, our last date did not go very well. I am still wondering what happened. We had been getting along so well up unit then. It was as though someone flipped a switch.’

Dr. Jekyll: ‘Oh. Yeah. Well, I hadn’t had any sleep and I wasn’t thinking straight. I’m sorry if you feel it wasn’t a good dinner.’

Wasn’t a good dinner? WTF?!? You act like like stupid git and you think it was all about the dinner?!? Wow. Hide your head in sand much?

Me: ‘The dinner was fine. You were not.’

Dr. Jekyll: ‘ I know. I’m sorry. I haven’t been sleeping. That night I hadn’t had any sleep  for two days’ Blah, blah, blah………

He rambled on about his health, his goals, his needing to concentrate on his school work, moving and a trip home to see his mother. He explained that we will be neighbours and he hoped we could be friendly since we would living so close. I read this as ‘I will see you around and I hope you don’t call me names/ignore me in front of my friends.’ He put his horrible behavior down to lack of sleep, stress and health issues. Not once did he take responsibility for it. Not once did he just say ‘I acted like a stupid git, and I am sorry I treated you that way.’ Okay, he would never say ‘stupid git’, but you get the idea.

We talked for a little while. I kept  to short answers and added little to the conversation. I told him I had to go, I was expected somewhere else.

He then asked me to come over that night.

Wow. I mean, really, WOW. Does he truly expect that a lame-ass ‘I’m sorry dinner wasn’t good’ followed by a string of excuses for treating me like a cabbie would smooth things over? And after he made a point of telling me he wasn’t ready for a relationship because of all the things he had on his plate? I almost laughed out loud. Instead, I said I had to go, and no I wouldn’t come over. I was busy all day.

His response?

‘Okay. Call me tonight and come over tomorrow.’

Wow. Just, wow, wow, wow. He is not listening to me, or to himself. I don’t want to see him again. He has shown me who he is, and I believe him. He has told me he has no time for a relationship. That horrible humanoid that was at dinner will come again the next time his life gets stressed, or he doesn’t get his way. I want no part of him. Not even a little bit. I have no need for a man in his fifty’s who smokes pot and plays video games all day (new discovery). I don’t want a friend with benefits, a f**k buddy or be some man’s available vagina.

I want the whole relationship thing, and I will not settle for less.

2 comments on “Dr. Jekyll and His Apology

    • I find more and more people are wanting to just be ‘friends with benefits’. It’s as if they no longer want to deal with anyone on a relationship basis. It’s pretty sad.

  • Leave a Reply

