Underwear – I See Paris, I See France. I see………….

Published February 26, 2013 by mindfulofchatter

NEW-HELLO-KITTY-MAN-MEN-S-UNDERWEAR-BOXER-BRIEFS-SIZE

Underwear. We all wear it in form or another. Oh, well there a few who go commando, though I doubt that is 24/7 condition. This, my lovely blogging friends and the inappropriate conversation I had a couple of weeks ago, got me thinking. And we all know where ends up. See what happens when I can’t get a date?

This will revolve around women’s under things as I have no experience wearing male under things. Sorry guys, you’ll just have to follow along the best you can.

Most people know about, and have seen a corset:

corset-back-front-drawing

What most don’t know about corsets, is how it feels to wear one. And I’m not talking the Fredericks of Hollywood spandex piece of crap with plastic stays you wear for 10 seconds. Nope. I’m talking the real deal with steel stays and steel busks. Corsets began life as a way to support breasts, like our modern bra. They morphed into a way to change our body shape to fit the current fashion trends. I have worn a real corset all day, many times. I used to do Victorian dress and Old West Re-enacting. Period clothing requires period underthings, which requires a period corset. Period. Over all, if a corset is made to fit your body, it isn’t bad to wear. How tight you wear a corset is your business. If I want to, I can take 2 inches of my waist in a corset. It isn’t all the comfy, but I can do it. And guys, you are not out on this corset thing. Men used to wear them too. Small waists with broad shoulders were ‘in’ for men. Corsets helped men achieve that look. Now, a corset is more for sex play, CosPlay, Gothic and the like.

After the corset, came bras. The brassiere  was designed by a man (of course!). As the 20’s roared in, corsets roared out. With the help of the bra, and Coco Chanel, the corset died a slow death in everyday womenswear. Hooray for our side! We won a small battle with fashion front.

After that, ladies underthings changed, morphed, grew larger, grew smaller, changed materials and all sorts of other things. We now have bikinis, hipsters, briefs, low-cut briefs (an old lady name for hipsters?), hi-cut briefs and the thong. Bras too, have changed. There are padded, unpadded, push-up, separating, underwire, no underwire, stretchy, lace, silk, animal print….the list goes on and on.

Men like tiny underthings. Or so they say. After years of conditioning by Victoria and her lack of Secrets,

victorias-secret

men will tell you they prefer the thong or bikini with a pretty bra that matches. I suppose we are expected to parade around in those things in our high heels with wings on our backs. But I doubt that happens much in the real world. But women being women, will go for whatever the fashion trend is. So they buy the thongs and pretty bras to impress the boyfriend or husband. We all want to look cute when the time comes to…….well, you know. Yet my experience has been that the guys look at the underwear for about 0.1 100th of a second. They aren’t interested in the underwear. They interested in whats UNDER the underwear. So that $50 thong gets flung across the room with little attention paid to it. Well, that was money well spent.

But all in all, underwear is not a topic for discussion. Especially on a date, or on a telephone meet n’ greet. My underwear just isn’t your business. Unless I make it so (wow! A Jean Luc Picard moment in a blog about underwear! who’da thunk it).

In that conversation I had a couple of weeks back, Mr. Insecure-How-Far-Can-I-Push-This-Conversation had the nerve to ask me about my underwear. We had been talking for about an hour, maybe an hour and a half. Now, a lot of women would have been insulted, unnerved or creeped out by this. I’m pretty sure many would have called him a few choice names then hung up. Some may have sputtered and fluttered and answered him because he would have pointed out their issues with certain topics and made them feel wretched about themselves if they didn’t answer. My response?

I gleefully told him all about my beige, cotton granny panties and stretchy AH bra. I even threw in the information that my cotton panties came in black (the sexy ones), dusty pink, mauve, green and one pair with flowers.

It may be a long time before he asks any woman about her underwear again.

Mission accomplished.

Leave a Reply

