Upheaval Isn’t Always a Bad Thing

Published December 23, 2012 by mindfulofchatter

My life has undergone huge changes and experiences in the past 8 months. With Christmas just around the corner, I am at a place where I can catch my breath and relax just a wee bit.

It all began in May of this year when I relocated to Washington state to help out my sister. Sis suffers from depression and was having a major rough patch. She dreams of moving to France and living to rest of her life there. She asked me if I wanted to join her. I had agreed, even though I had never been to France. So off I went to Washington to get reaquainted with a sister I had rarely spoken with the past 20 years or so. We got along pretty darn well, for the most part. We were squeezed into her one bedroom cottage, but it was okay for a start. Sis got a small windfall from a long-term legal matter getting settled. She immediately booked us a trip to France. And in October, off we went.

I didn’t bond with France. I just didn’t see the fuss. Paris was loud, dirty and crowded. The people were all very nice. Many went out of their way to help us out, and point us in the proper direction. We also stayed in Blois (Bl-wah) and just outside of Cognac. But this part France looked just like rural Minnesota to me. And after ten years of living in Minnesota, I wasn’t ready to relocate to a country that looked just like it and spoke French just because the food was better. I am happy to say that my sister is working her way towards her dream without me. She has opened a vintage clothing store on Etsy. I wish her the best with all my heart.

I also didn’t bond with Washington. I tried. I was out for walks every day and shopped in the local shops went to the beaches to walk and beach comb. But it just wasn’t me. Once we returned from France, I moved next door to my sister. A relief for both of us. Her cottage was never intended for two people. Then I was faced with a small disaster. My full-time job was cut to a part-time job. VERY part-time. My boss was upset, but there was little he could do. Here I was two weeks in my new place with way to pay for it. My landlord and I had done a month to month agreement, so at least I wasn’t hooked into a lease. She was very understanding and we worked it all out. I took all of  this as a sign Washington and I were not to be. So after 5 months in Washington, I sold my beloved Mini and moved back home.

My friend offered her home to me until I found a place of my own. But that didn’t work out. No ones fault, it just work. I ended up leaving there and staying with other friends until I found a place. I did secure a seasonal job, so I had a bit of income. A relief for me, since my ‘extra’ money was earmarked for an apartment deposit. I did, in fact secure an apartment in the same complex I had left 8 months earlier. The manager was happy to have me back, and promptly set me up in a studio near her office. My ex sold me his old car at a price I could afford (He and his girlfriend are good people. We all get along quite well.)

I ‘rescued’ two pieces of furniture and re-painted them to suit me. One I even hauled back from Washington.

This is the T.V. stand (well, it may not have been a TV stand before, but it is now) I found while out walking my trusty four-legged friend. It was tucked up next to a dumpster. An abandoned, unsold estate sale item. I carried it home. Thank goodness it wasn’t heavy.

TVstandbefore

After some scrubbing, sanding, paint and new drawer pulls, I have this pretty little TV stand:

TVstandafter

Yeah, I was kind of amazed too. My Tv fits on it as if it was made for it and my DVD player sits perfectly on the top shelf. I love it.

The dresser was more of a mess:

FunkyDresser

You may notice the kick plate is missing, there is a chip out of the top drawer and the hardware is, well, horrid. Like, ew. This is the same piece I wrote about in the ‘Upcycle’ post. In spite of all of its short comings, I just loved the funky look of this thing. So I hauled to my ex’s shop to work on it (With his permission. He has a small, heated shop and all the proper tools.)

After sanding, cutting a new kick plate, nailing, gluing, working with plastic wood, and painting, I ended this:

funkydresserafter

Finding the hardware was the toughest part. My budget is very limited, but my taste is not. I kept finding the ‘perfect’ hardware only to notice it was $30 a piece. Yeeaah…..that just wasn’t going to happen.

Now I am in my small, but tiny, apartment with my trusty four-legged friend at my side. I have my seasonal job and an interview for a regular job coming up. I have much less ‘stuff ‘ than I had before, and much happier for it. I think I can step off the roller coaster and recover a little bit before it takes off again. It has been emotionally draining, up hills and screaming down the other side, full speed ahead adventure.

And I wouldn’t have missed it for the world.

Leave a Reply

