Movie and Series Pet Peeve – The Empty Coffee Cup

Published April 25, 2012 by mindfulofchatter

I have been watching In Plain Sight on Netflix. My sister told me how much she liked this series, so I thought I’d give it a whirl. I am enjoying it. I like watching stuff on Netflix – no commercials. And if I want to sit and watch a marathon on Dr.Who or Eureka, I can do so without waiting until next week or next season. At least until I catch up to the current doings.

But the one thing that drives me to distraction is the empty coffee cup. Empty cups sounds different than full cups. You hold an empty cup different from how you hold a full cup. I really hate it when a character goes of ‘fills’ his coffee cup, turns and sets it on the counter and hearing that empty cup ‘clink’. Come on production people! How hard can it be to have water in those cups?  Let the characters hold cup with something IN it! Next time they set their coffee cup down, let us hear the full cup ‘clunk’.

I know, I know. This sounds like I should have better things to do than be annoyed by some stupid little film set thing. And I DO have better things to do than be annoyed by this. I just can’t help it. Here I sit watching an interesting story unfold, only to have the lead characters get coffee and walk with their cups at odd angles because the cups are EMPTY. If that cup really had coffee in it, would Mary Shannon really carry it tipped all the way to one side? No, she wouldn’t. She would automatically hold the cup upright and be mindful of the hot beverage inside it.

So come on film productions across the world, fill those cups with water, or soda, or tea – anything to give them a true full appearance. Anything to make the characters holding those cups, hold them properly. Anything so they sounds full when set on a counter or table. It ain’t a tough time to do.

Leave a Reply

